NOTICE: This Website Will Be Turned Off May 1, 2018

Final Staff

Stacey Janssen

Managing Editor:
Dave Noonan


  • Mishell Baker
  • Bluejack
  • Amy Goldschlager
  • Emily Lupton
  • R. K. MacPherson
  • Scott James Magner
  • Robin Shantz

Copy Editors

  • Sarah L. Edwards
  • Yoon Ha Lee
  • Sherry D. Ramsey
  • Rena Saimoto
  • Paula Stiles


  • Marti McKenna
  • Bridget McKenna


  • Geb Brown

Publisher: Bluejack

News -> Awards

And the Nebula Award goes to...

Sun, April 26, 2009 (07:16 AM)

The 2009 Nebula Awards ceremony was held Saturday, April 25, 2009 in Los Angeles, CA. Live coverage of the event was carried byScience Fiction Awards Watch, aided by regular Twitter updates (@sfwa).

The 2009 Honorees (including categories announced and awarded before the ceremony) are:

Best Novel: Powers - Ursula K. Le Guin (published by Harcourt, Sep 2007)

Best Novella: “The Spacetime Pool” - Catherine Asaro (Analog, Mar 2008)

Best Novelette: “Pride and Prometheus” - John Kessel (F&SF, Jan 2008)

Best Short Story: “Trophy Wives” - Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Greenberg and Hughes, Daw Jan 2008)

Best Script: “WALL-E” Screenplay - Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon. Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney June 2008)

Andre Norton Award (presented for Best Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy work): Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) - Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt, Sep 2008)

Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award (for lifetime achievement): Harry Harrison

Bradbury Award (for excellence in screenwriting): Joss Whedon

Solstice Award (for significance to the Science Fiction Field): A.J. Budrys, Kate Wilhelm, Martin H. Greenberg

Author Emerita (honoring a senior writer in the field): M.J. Engh

SFWA Service Award: Victoria Strauss

A full list of 2008 nominees and nominated works can be found here.

The Nebula Awards® are annual awards presented by SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY WRITERS OF AMERICA to celebrate excellence in science fiction and fantasy writing.

Many thanks to Mary Robinette Kowal and Mike Allen for their near instant updates (via tweets) during the ceremony!

And thanks to Scott for getting it in here!

Sign In




NOTE: IRoSF no longer requires a 'username' -- why try to remember anything other than your own email address?

Not a subscriber? Subscribe now!

Problems logging in? Try our Problem Solver